Tags

,

Anna Prater's Headstone Lost Amid Trees and Grass

Anna Prater's Headstone Lost Amid Trees and Grass

My grandmother’s mother died from complications of childbirth soon after Grandma was born. She was buried in Tucker Cemetery, a little patch of land that is no longer used for interments.

In my quest to photograph tombstones of as many relatives as possible, I visited Tucker Cemetery. It’s condition is deplorable. I was expecting it to be a bit overgrown not ALOT overgrown.

I located my great-grandmother’s grave with little difficulty but had to push small trees aside to get a good look at it. With a bit of eye squinting and probably a bit of imagination I was able to decipher the writing: Anna Prater, Apr 6 1887, Oct 30 1910, At Rest.

From the accounts of my mother and grandmother (daughter of Anna Prater) my great-grandmother died on the 29th of Oct., the same day Grandma was born. It’s a bit of a conundrum as to why the tombstone says the 30th. Of course, Grandma could hardly recall the event herself. *shrugging shoulders*

Anyway, as a result of this little expedition, I will be making an effort to clean up my great grandmother’s grave. I’ve emailed Saving Graves – Arkansas in an effort to get Tucker Cemetery added to their list. No reply as of yet. More cemetery preservation research is in my future.

Nearly Undecipherable Headstone of Anna Prater

Nearly Undecipherable Headstone of Anna Prater

