Last month I told you about cleaning the tombstone for my great-great grandparents. Hugh and Mary Prater were the grandparents of my grandma on her father’s side. *shaking head* I decided to clean the stone of her mother’s parents for many reasons. Mainly because is was filthy and nearly unreadable.

Back in April I took photos of many of my ancestor’s tombstones. I was deeply saddened by the state of Babe and Robert Gulledge’s stone.

Before: April 14, 2009

Before: April 14, 2009

I did some major league scrubbing but it seems to no avail. I just didn’t have enough elbow grease.

After: August 23, 2009

After: August 23, 2009

I admit it does look a bit better but it could use a lot more work. If it were acceptable to make repeat visits to clean a monument this wouldn’t be so distressing. However, you aren’t supposed to clean one more often than every ten years. All my work will be wiped away relatively soon.

I’m trying! Really, I am.

