Tags

,

Last week my parents and I ventured from our home in southern Madison County and went to Hindsville in northern Madison County and Berryville in Carroll County. Our goal? Visit three cemeteries where my father’s family are buried.

It’s no secret I’ve become a cemetery nut. The information one can find among the grave markers is fantastic; the frustration can be horrendous. This day the information was abundant. The frustration was high but not from the actual search; my dad knows how to push my buttons. *sigh*

Tombstone: Irene McGinnisIt took quite a bit of looking to find the Hindsville Cemetery. Road construction has changed the landscape since my dad was last there. Thank goodness for my iPhone maps. My great-grandfather’s grave is in the cemetery but it isn’t marked. I knew this going in but couldn’t help getting my hopes up that my information was wrong.

I found my 4x great-grandparents, Elisha and Kate McGinnis, and several of their children. The dates on the stones helped a great deal. I found a stone for Irene McGinnis, baby daughter of J.E. & Bertie, born 22 Oct 1910, died 8 Dec 1910. I think this is the granddaughter of Kate and Elisha. I need to do a bit more research to know for sure.

Grave Stone: Dixie Marie DorseyColbaugh Cemetery was abundant with family monuments large and small. Both Dorsey and McGinnis ancestors are buried there. I was particularly happy to get a photo of my Aunt Dixie. She died just before she turned three and I’ve never heard my dad or grandmother speak of her. Of course, I was aware of her existence but… seeing her grave made her more real.

Great-Grandma Dorsey is buried there. She was married to the great-grandfather who doesn’t have a grave marker in the Hindsville Cemetery. He was a black sheep though – I told his story in a previous post. Great-grandparents and 2x great-grandparents on the McGinnis side were easily found. My Grandpa Dorsey and aunts and uncles eternally rest there.

Headstone: Gordon and Bebe FryeIn Berryville we visited Grandpa Gordon’s grave. He adopted my father when dad was about ten years old. Dad stayed in contact with his biological family but was raised by Gordon and Bebe Frye. I hadn’t been to the cemetery since Grandpa’s death in 1995.

I was struck by how large the cemetery is. I didn’t remember it being that big. It isn’t cold by any means but it lacks the intimacy that the smaller cemeteries possess. I snapped a couple photos to use for Tombstone Tuesdays; look for those in the future.

Although dealing with dad was a frustration the trip was a success. I got the photos I wanted plus a few I wasn’t expecting. I’m sure I’ll return again soon and I have other cemeteries near Hindsville that I want to visit. I’ll let you know when I manage to do so.

