How meticulous are you in your research? Seriously, do you peruse every document with a vigilant eye or do you skim them for pertinent information? I’m just getting a good grasp of research techniques (and software programs) and am now going back through my tree and correcting mistakes. However, I’ve tried my best not to add a document to my tree if it doesn’t jive up with the rest of my information.

Image © martin van r

Image © martin van r

Twice in one day I’ve found some questionable information on two different people. Both were on Ancestry.com. Don’t get me wrong, I love Ancestry.com. It has provided me with valuable information that I’ve been able to verify other places. Mostly, it’s other researchers that gum up the whole thing.

For instance, my 9x great-grandmother was Jemima Morgan (wife of James Murray) but I didn’t have a legitimate name for her father; the only names I had found to this point were Hanna Thomas. Is Hanna a man’s name? And what about the surname? Her mother’s name was Mary but I couldn’t find a surname.

I got a hint at Ancestry.com and checked it out. In the Family Data Collection: Births it listed Hanna Thomas and Mary as her parents. It was the same in the Family Data Collection: Individual Records Record and it listed her spouse as Morgan James. Hmmmmm…

I went to the LDS search site and put in Jemima Morgan with her birth year and James Murray as her husband and this is what I found: Father, Thomas Morgan and mother, Mary Elenor HANNA. Kind of makes sense of the jumbled up mess. I still need to verify a few facts but at least I have something sensible to go from.

Image © ralaenin

Image © ralaenin

The other event is a little more frustrating. My 8x great-grandparents were Andrew and Sarah Smothers. I’ve been unable to find Sarah’s maiden name. I decided to look through the ancestry family tree hints to see if I could find a clue. Several of the trees have a record saved to Sarah’s profile. To my dismay, the record was the 1850 Federal Census. Why was I dismayed? Because Sarah died around 1807.

The Sarah on the census record was Sarah Smithers she was 110 at the time of the census and was black. I’m not saying that I can’t have black ancestors. What I’m saying is if you have the death date of an ancestor as abt 1807 then how can you use the 1850 Federal Census as a record of proof. It doesn’t make sense.

So, again I ask, are you meticulous in your research or do little discrepancies as these not bother you?

