This may sound strange but I get some of my best research done while preparing the weekly Ancestral Events posts. Each month I compile the events that will occur during the next month – births, deaths and marriages. (I’m trying to incorporate other events such as military and migration but it’s much more difficult to pin down exact dates for those) Anyway, I double check records and search for new information on each individual with an event coming up. I’ve found many new records for those individuals and their families by using this method.

Image: Waterfall

Image © Matt Marshall

For instance, an event for someone in the Sprigg branch of my tree is coming in January. While double checking my information I stumbled upon a wealth of historical records for the family. Not the least of which are three books that have been uploaded to Ancestry.com.

  • Across the Years in Prince George’s County [Maryland]: Author: Bowie, Effie Gwynn: Date of Publication: 1975
  • British Roots of Maryland Families II: Author: Barnes, Robert: Date of Publication: 2002
  • Monnet family genealogy : an emphasis of a noble Huguenot heritage, somewhat of the first immigrants Isaac and Pierre Monnet: Author: Monnette, Orra Eugene: Date of Publication: 1911

They provide dates of births, deaths and marriages for several generations. Abstracts and copies of wills and other official documents.

In addition to those items there are dozens of entries in the U.S. and International Marriage Records, 1560-1900 for individuals of the Sprigg family.

It overwhelmed me! I thought, how am I going to get through all of this. I wanted to download all the information directly into my brain and knowing that’s impossible frustrated me. There are only so many hours in the day, after all. Of course, my curiosity spurred me to stay focused and I’m slogging away at a human pace looking at available documents. I went from a drought to a deluge of information.

Most everyone I know thinks genealogy is fascinating but very few want to actually take on the research. Sometimes it is frustrating and others it’s overwhelming but if you hold on you’ll find something that makes the frustration morph into satisfaction.

