Logo: Ancestral Events

It’s Christmas week! We have only a few days to finish our shopping and prepare our homes for family gatherings. For me, the world seems to shine a little brighter at Christmastime.

For my ancestors, it seems that Christmas Eve was a day of import in more ways than one. It was chosen as the perfect time to marry, it delighted families with births, and it also became a day of mourning as loved ones passed from this world.

I hope you all have a blessed Christmas and that all the ‘events’ in your life are pleasant rather than sad. Take care!

December 19:

Births:

1843 Martha A. Reeves in Randolph County, Alabama – my maternal 3rd great grand aunt
1856 Margaret Shipman in Winston County, Alabama – my maternal 2nd great grand aunt

Deaths:

1806 Margaret DAVIS Cox in Ashe, North Carolina – my maternal 5th great grandmother

December 21:

Deaths:

1880 Joshua Calvin Ellis in Madison, Arkansas – my paternal 4th great grandfather

December 22:

Births:

1771 Angelica Mitchell in Boonesboro, Madison, Kentucky – my maternal 4th great grand aunt
1842 Eleanor Ellender Baker in Ashe County, North Carolina – my maternal 5th great grand aunt
1844 James Madison Shipman in Gilmer County, Georgia – my maternal 2nd great grand uncle

Marriages:

1792: Joseph Dennis & Ann Nancy BYBEE in Botetourt, Virginia my paternal 4th great grand parents
1915: Lincoln Dorsey, my paternal great grand uncle married Myrtle Donna McCHRISTIAN in Huntsville, Arkansas
1952: my maternal uncle, Roy Don Baker married Lucy Jane SHACKELFORD in Delaney, Madison, Arkansas

December 23:

Births:

1811 William H. Babb in Barren, Kentucky my maternal 1st cousin 5 times removed
1908 Harlen Cochran in Oregon my maternal 2nd cousin 2 times removed
1929 Phyllis Dorsey in probably Madison County, Arkansas – my paternal grand aunt

Deaths:

1922 Katherine BRUNER Hammons in Arkansas – my paternal 2nd great grandmother

December 24:

Births:

1869 Missouri Jane Baker in Winston County, Alabama – my maternal great grand aunt
1920 Irene R. McGinnis in probably Madison County, Arkansas my 1st cousin 2 times removed

Deaths:

1765 Eleanor Ellender BAKER Ray in Wilkes County, North Carolina – my maternal 5th great grand aunt
1818 John Cox in Ashe County, North Carolina – my maternal 5th great grandfather
1992 Matthew Henry Gulledge – my maternal 2nd cousin once removed – he was 10 years old

Marriages:

1840: Amos Elias Perry & Midda Ann OWENS, Woodville, Wilkinson, Mississippi – my paternal 3rd great grandfather & first wife (not my great grandmother)

December 25:

Deaths:

1861 John T. Johnson in Springdale, Washington, Arkansas- my paternal 3rd great grand uncle
1867 John Ray in Ashe County, North Carolina – my maternal first cousin 6 times removed

Although I’ve done a great deal of research and am fairly certain of the dates and events, I’m not infallible. If you see a mistake, please inform me and I’ll correct it. Also, any additional information you could share with me is always appreciated. I want my research to be as complete and correct as possible.

