I was proud to learn that I had been awarded the “Ancestor Approved” award by Liz Tapley-Matthews at My Tapley Tree. Thanks, Liz!

As a recipient of this award, I am to list 10 things I have learned about my ancestors that have surprised, humbled or enlightened me and then pass the award on to 10 other genealogy bloggers who I feel are doing their ancestors proud.

1. I was surprised to learn that more than one ancestor left wives and children to start families with other women. I’m a product of the second family in each instance.
2. I was enlightened to learn that depression runs in my family on both sides. I’m not happy about it but it showed me I’m not alone in my struggles.
3. I’ve been humbled by the many wonderful genealogists who share their passion. The tidbits I’ve uncovered about my ancestors often seem small compared to others’.
4. I was surprised to learn I’m related to a semi-famous 19th-century American outlaw, Nathanial “Texas Jack” Reed
5. I was surprised and enlightened to learn some of my ancestors were from Switzerland.
6. I was surprised and enlightened to learn that law enforcement seems to be a tradition for several branches of my tree from Scotland to America.
7. I’ve been surprised at how comfortable I’ve become in cemeteries. I’ve never been afraid or spooked but didn’t expect to find such peace while visiting the final resting places of my ancestors.
8. I’ve realized that though I’m insignificant in the overall scheme of things my existence means something. Maybe someday a great grand niece or nephew will be interested in my meager contributions to the family.
9. I’m surprised at how often family stories get distorted and newspapers often perpetuate the distortions.
10. It boggles my mind that I’ve learned so much about ancestry research and yet I’ve only scraped the surface. There is so much more I want to know.

Here is my list of ten genealogy bloggers that I think have made their ancestors proud. Some of them have already received this award but they deserve the recognition:

1. Caroline at Family Stories
2. Pugbug at Gravestoned
3. Kristin at Finding Eliza
4. Gini at Ginisology
5. footnoteMaven
6. Deb Ruth at Adventures in Genealogy
7. Nancy at My Ancestors and Me
8. Mika and Shannon at Oh Spusch!
9. Deci at Wild Rhododendrons
10. Mary Ellen at Threading Needles in a Haystack

This award was originated by Leslie Ann Ballou at Ancestors Live Here.

