This time of year, Christmas memories tease us everywhere we look. A decoration reminds us of our childhood; a song brings a feeling of excitement. It came as a surprise when I decided to write about Christmas memories and nothing immediately stood out. I thought, old photos might trigger something interesting. It’s always fun to rummage through photo albums and boxes of pictures – it’s also easy to get lost in them.

Christmas DecorationsI found a photo that illustrates how we decorated for Christmas in the Frye household. The dining room ceiling was perfect to string red and blue garland. Later Christmas bells would be added to the decor. A Christmas card holder was hung above the bar. Festive, don’t you think?

I remember the night this photo was taken. It was Thanksgiving night, the turkeys we made from egg cartons still sat on the bar. On a side note, the bar stools were too short for the bar. Dad special ordered them but when he brought them home they didn’t fit. Instead of exchanging them, these short bar stools remained a part of our home. They are still present.

My brother and I always woke up extremely early Christmas morning. I remember once getting up around 4:00 a.m., heading straight to my brother’s room and being cut off with a quick “get back to bed” stage whispered from my parent’s room. The excitement was unbearable.

Barbie Bedroom
Creepy Crawlers

The year I received the Barbie bedroom and wardrobe does stand out in my mind. I played with it for hours and hours (more than a few cousins joined me). We must have had superb imaginations because it was always daylight outside that bedroom window.

The next year, I received the Creepy Crawlers machine. You poured warm goo into molds and they hardened into spiders, snakes and all sorts of creepy things. It didn’t work very well, if my memory is correct, and I didn’t play with it much.

I tried to find a photo of my Weeble Wobbles. I loved them! I had the Weeble Wobble camper. I don’t remember much about them other than the feeling of joy they brought.

What kind of Christmas memories are you thinking of this year? Any special toys or gifts you want to tell about?

