Logo: Ancestral Events

Well, Santa is now resting after his long night of delivering presents to the good little girls and boys. A new year will dawn in a few days. The first day of the year holds important ancestral events – at least in my family tree.

December 26:

Births:

1895 Bertha Mae Shipman in Delaney, Madison, Arkansas – my maternal 1st cousin 2x removed

Deaths:

1895 William Perry Shipman in Winston, Alabama – my maternal 2nd great grand uncle

December 27:

Births:

1863: Caldona C Baker in Alabama – my maternal great grand aunt

Deaths:

1956 Dixie Marie Dorsey in Fayetteville, Washington, Arkansas – my paternal aunt

December 28:

Births:

1841 Hanna Helena Shipman in Georgia – my maternal 2nd great grandmother

Deaths:

1867 Agnes Ann HENDERSON Clark in Arkansas – my paternal 5th great grandmother)
1914 Sarah PACE Baker in Winston, Alabama wife of maternal 1st cousin 3x removed

December 29:

Deaths:

1955 Claiborne Clabe Hammons in Arkansas – my paternal great grand uncle

Marriages:

1859 my paternal 2nd great grandfather, Alexander Dorsey, married Eliza BOYD in Madison County, Arkansas

December 31:

Deaths:

1992 Earnest Richard Gulledge in Springdale, Washington, Arkansas – my maternal 1st cousin 2x removed

January 1:

Births:

1804 Telitha Cumi Peters in Scott County, Virginia – my paternal 3rd great grand aunt
1857 James Sylvester Patrick in Missouri – husband of my maternal great grand aunt Caldona C. BAKER

Deaths:

1748 Melchizedek Murray in Ann Arundel County, Maryland – my paternal 7th great grand uncle
1827 Benjamin Drake in Tennessee – my paternal 6th great grandfather
1860 Joshua Cox in Alleghany County, North Carolina – my maternal 4th great grand uncle
1905 James Sylvester Patrick in Madison County, Arkansas – husband of my maternal great grand aunt Caldona C. BAKER

Marriages:

1902 paternal 2nd great grandparents Alexander Dorsey and Mary Jane PERRY married in Drakes Creek, Madison, Arkansas.
1920 paternal great grandparents George Arvil McGinnis and Helena Katherine HAMMONS married in Hindsville, Madison, Arkansas

Although I’ve done a great deal of research and am fairly certain of the dates and events, I’m not infallible. If you see a mistake, please inform me and I’ll correct it. Also, any additional information you could share with me is always appreciated. I want my research to be as complete and correct as possible.

