Tags

, ,

Image: Headstone of Bonnie Gladys Baker

My maternal grand aunt
Patrick Cemetery, Patrick, Madison, Arkansas

I grew up just a few miles from Aunt Bonnie but never really knew her. She was the epitome of the “Old Maid” and lived a rather reclusive life. As a child, we would sometimes walk by her house, which was off the beaten path, and wonder about her. We feared her a bit, I guess. I remember walking by with some friends who were spending the night with me and told them we had to hurry by the house because Aunt Bonnie would come out and throw green apples at us if we didn’t. Mean, I know.

Now that I’m in my forties and still unmarried I have a different view of that woman we rarely saw. I can’t pretend to know anything about her, but I understand she did the best she could under the circumstances. She had Uncle Doyle to take care of her in her old age. I hope I’m as lucky when I become too old to care for myself.

Image: Bonnie Gladys Baker 1952-53 Image: Bonnie Gladys Baker
