Logo: Ancestral Events

January 2:

Births:

1842 Hiram Kelly Ellis in District 31, Forsyth, Georgia – my paternal 3rd great grand uncle
1892 Frances Willard Fry in Pennsylvania – my adoptive grand aunt
1897 Sherman Lee McGinnis in Hindsville, Madison, Arkansas – my paternal great grand uncle

Deaths:

1954 James Robert Bruner in Keota, Haskell, Oklahoma – my paternal 2nd cousin 3x removed

January 3:

Births:

1872 Mary C. Smith in Alabama – wife of my maternal 2nd great grand uncle Riley Tillman Baker
1929 Robert William Gulledge in Fayetteville, Washington, Arkansas – my maternal 1st cousin 2x removed

Deaths:

1977 John Kenton Crane in Purcell, McClain, Oklahoma – my maternal 2nd cousin 2x removed

January 4:

Deaths:

1929 Adam Beck in Burnside, Clearfield, Pennsylvania – my adoptive paternal 2nd great grandfather

January 5:

Births:

1528 Christopher Baker in Kent, England – my maternal 13th great grandfather
1803 Joel Dyer Mitchell in Hawkins County, Tennessee – my maternal 1st cousin 5x removed
1830 Sarah “Sally” Patrick in Kentucky – my maternal 3rd great grand aunt

Deaths:

1844 Sarah Shipman in Georgia (6 ½ months after her birth) – my maternal 2nd great grand aunt
1912 Samuel W. Prater in Combs, Madison, Arkansas – my maternal great grand uncle
1971 Tom Baker in Delaney, Madison, Arkansas – my maternal grandfather

Marriages:

1939 paternal grandparents Fred Dorsey and Ina Marie McGinnis married in Madison County, Arkansas.

January 6:

Births:

1746 Zilphia Meador in Amelia, Bedford, Virginia – my maternal 6th great grandmother
1819 Mary Ann McCullough in Armstrong, Indiana, Pennsylvania – my adoptive 3rd great grandmother
1829 Mary Ann Patrick in Floyd County, Kentucky – my maternal 3rd great grand aunt

Deaths:

1941 Alexander Bowden Dorsey in Grenola, Elk, Kansas – my paternal great grand uncle

January 7:

Deaths:

1906 Martha Jane COCHRAN Crane in Fort Scott, Bourbon, Kansas – my maternal 1st cousin 3x removed
1915 Sarah Chloe Hall in Arkansas – wife of maternal 1st cousin 2x removed Thomas Aloniel Dorsey
1950 Nathaniel “Texas Jack” Reed in Tulsa, Tulsa, Oklahoma – my maternal 1st cousin 3x removed

January 8:

Births:

1819 Jacob Shipman in Tennessee – my maternal 2nd great grand uncle
1892 Sarah Elizabeth Dorsey in Drakes Creek, Madison, Arkansas – my paternal 1st cousin 2x removed
1910 Earnest Richard Gulledge in Patrick, Madison, Arkansas – my maternal 1st cousin 2x removed

Deaths:

1871 Samuel Thomas Irwin in Montgomery, Indiana, Pennsylvania – my adoptive paternal 3rd great grandfather
1879 Joshua Alexander Baker in Ashe County, North Carolina – my maternal 1st cousin 5x removed
1883 Catherine Jane STEWART Bruner in Laurel County, Kentucky – wife of my paternal 1st cousin 4x removed Reuben Bruner
1929 John Picklesimer in Magoffin County, Kentucky – my maternal 1st cousin 4x removed

Marriages:

1782 maternal 5th great grand aunt Eleanor Ellender BAKER married Jesse Ray in Wilkes County, North Carolina
1954 maternal uncle Dave Wilburn Baker married Norma Sue GABBARD in Madison County, Arkansas

Although I’ve done a great deal of research and am fairly certain of the dates and events, I’m not infallible. If you see a mistake, please inform me and I’ll correct it. Also, any additional information you could share with me is always appreciated. I want my research to be as complete and correct as possible.

