Tags

, ,

Gravestone: Mary MARTIN Dorsey

Mary Vandonia Belle MARTIN Dorsey
6 Oct 1890 - 8 Sep 1967
Colbaugh Cemetery, Hindsville, Madison, Arkansas
My paternal great grandmother

Mary Vandonia Belle MARTIN Dorsey

Mary Dorsey

My great grandmother, Mary Dorsey, died the year before I was born. I’ve heard very few people talk about her, therefore my knowledge of her is limited.

However, I do know a few things of interest. She married Sherman Dorsey in July 1909, at the age of 18, but was estranged from him at the time of his death in 1934. She had eight children with Sherman and survived four.

I’ve found her listed in four Federal Census Records – 1900, 1910, 1920 and 1930 – all as a resident of Madison County, Arkansas. Her estimated birth year on those records range from 1891 to 1893 but her gravestone says she was born in 1890.

I wish I knew more about her.

