Tags

, ,

Anna Melissa GULLEDGE Prater
My maternal great grandmother
1887-1910

Very little is known, to me, of Anna Melissa. I know I was named after her. As a child, that meant nothing to me. I never knew the woman. Come to find out, very few people did.

She died giving birth to my grandmother, Annie Roxie Prater, her only child. When I saw this picture at my Uncle John and Aunt Cathy’s house, I immediately said, “I want one!” Luckily, they had an extra copy. Gotta love John and Cathy.

I wish I had more to tell about her. She is listed in the 1900 census as a resident of Union & Vally Townships, Madison, Arkansas, age 13. She married Elijah Prater 28 Aug 1909 and they are listed in the 1910 census as living with her parents in Valley, Madison, Arkansas. She died 30 Oct 1910.

My grandmother always said her mother died the day she was born, 29 Oct 1910. Anna Melissa’s tombstone says the 30th. I wrote about the deplorable condition of the cemetery where my great-grandmother is buried: Cemetery Sadness of Another Kind.

I’m thrilled to have the photo of her to add to my family tree. Now, if I could only find out more information about her line of ancestors. I’m certain of her great-grandparents but from that point, the information becomes iffy and unsubstantiated. I’ll keep searching though; my curiosity won’t be abated.

